Friday, August 20, 2010


With the usual apologies to those who receive multiple copies of this...


Important Dates:

 * Deadline for all submissions (FIRM): September 6, 2010
 * Early registration: September 16, 2010
 * Author notification: September 20, 2010
 * Final paper due (in electronic form): October 5, 2010
 * Conference: October 19-21, 2010

Invited Speakers:

We are proud to announce that, for the 2010 edition, we will have the
following invited talks:

 * Lawrence Hunter
     Building a Mind for Life

 * Jans Aasman
     AllegroGraph and the Linked Open Data Cloud

 * Marc Feeley
     Gambit Scheme: Inside Out

 * Peter Seibel
     Common Lisp Standardization: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

 * Don Syme
     F#: Taking Succinct, Efficient, Typed Functional Programming 
     into the Mainstream

 * Lowel Hawkinson
     Lisp for Breakthrough Products

More information about speakers and talks is available at


Rates for Early Registration (before or on September 16, 2010)

ALU member
 & ACM member      $355
 & ACM non member  $390
 & Student         $150

ALU Individual Sponsors
 & ACM member      $280
 & ACM non-member  $315
 & Student         n/a

non-member of ALU
 & ACM member      $430
 & ACM non-member  $465
 & Student         $165

Rates for Late Registration (after September 16, 2010 & Onsite)

ALU member
 & ACM member      $440
 & ACM non member  $485
 & Student         $185

ALU Individual Sponsors
 & ACM member      $365
 & ACM non-member  $410
 & Student         n/a

non-member of ALU
 & ACM member      $515
 & ACM non-member  $560
 & Student         $200

Due to colocation, registration must be done using ILC/SPLASH'10
unified registration forms available at

Please note that the registration page (page 3) has the option "SPLASH
(OOPSLA/Onward!)" selected by default.  If you are only planning to
attend ILC, don't forget to deselect that option.

Travel and Accommodation:

SouthWest Airlines offers low fares into Reno but requires booking
online at

John Ascuaga's Nugget offers reduced rates for ILC participants.
Please, visit to obtain the group code.


Lisp is one of the greatest ideas from computer science and a major
influence for almost all programming languages and for all
sufficiently complex software applications.

The International Lisp Conference is a forum for the discussion of
Lisp and, in particular, the design, implementation and application of
any of the Lisp dialects.  We encourage everyone interested in Lisp to

We invite high quality submissions in all areas involving Lisp
dialects and any other languages in the Lisp family, including, but
not limited to, ACL2, AutoLisp, Clojure, Common Lisp, ECMAScript,
Dylan, Emacs Lisp, ISLISP, Racket, Scheme, etc.

Topics may include any and all combinations of Lisp and:

 * Language design and implementation
 * Language critique
 * Language integration, inter-operation and deployment
 * Applications (especially commercial)
 * 'Pearls' (of wisdom)
 * Experience reports and case studies
 * Reflection, meta-object protocols, meta-programming
 * Domain-specific languages
 * Programming paradigms and environments
 * Parallel and distributed computing
 * Software evolution
 * Theorem proving
 * Scientific computing
 * Data mining
 * Semantic web

We also encourage submissions about known ideas as long as they are
presented in a new setting and/or in a highly elegant way.

Authors concerned about the appropriateness of a topic may communicate
by electronic mail with the program chair prior to submission.

Accepted papers will be published in the ACM Digital Library (PENDING).

Papers must be written in English and submitted electronically at in PDF or WORD
format.  Final submissions must not exceed 15 pages and need to use
the ACM format, for which templates can be found at:

Each paper should explain its contributions in both general and
technical terms, identifying what has been accomplished, explaining
why it is significant, and comparing it with previous work. Authors
should strive to make their papers understandable to a broad audience.
Each paper will be judged according to its significance, novelty,
correctness, clarity, and elegance.

The official language of the conference is English.  Some further
information is available at the conference web site, with more details
added later.  See:

Technical Program:

Original submissions in all areas related to the conference themes are
invited for the following categories.

 * Papers: Technical papers of up to 15 pages that describe original
   results or explain known ideas in new and elegant ways.

 * Demonstrations: Abstracts of up to 4 pages for demonstrations of
   tools, libraries, and applications.

 * Tutorials: Abstracts of up to 4 pages for in-depth presentations
   about topics of special interest for at least 90 minutes and up to
   180 minutes.

 * Workshops: Abstracts of up to 4 pages for groups of people who
   intend to work on a focused topic for half a day.

 * Panel discussions: Abstracts of up to 4 pages for discussions about
   current themes. Panel discussion proposals must mention panel
   members who are willing to partake in a discussion.

 * Lightning talks: Abstracts of up to one page for talks to last for
   no more than 5 minutes.

Depending on the technical content, each submitted paper will be
classified by the program committee as either a technical paper or as
an experience paper; and authors will be informed about this
classification.  Note that all interesting submissions are considered
valuable contributions to the success of the ILC series of
conferences.  As in past ILC's since 2007, accepted papers in both
categories will be presented at the conference, included in the
proceedings, and submitted to the ACM digital library.

Organizing Committee:

 * General Chair:
   JonL White - The Ginger IceCream Factory of Palo Alto, ALU

 * Program Chair:
   Antonio Leitao - Instituto Superior Tecnico/INESC-ID

 * Conference Treasurer:
   Duane Rettig - Franz, Inc., ALU Director

 * Publicity Chair:
   Daniel Herring - ALU Director

 * ALU Treasurer:
   Rusty Johnson - TASC, Inc., ALU Director

Program Committee:

 * Antonio Leitao - Instituto Superior Tecnico/INESC-ID, Portugal
 * Alex Fukunaga - University of Tokyo, Japan
 * Charlotte Herzeel - Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
 * Christophe Rhodes - Goldsmiths College, University of London, UK
 * Didier Verna - EPITA Research and Development Laboratory, France
 * Duane Rettig - Franz, Inc., USA
 * Giuseppe Attardi - University of Pisa, Italy
 * Jeff Shrager - Symbolic Systems Program, Stanford University, USA
 * Joe Marshall - Google, Inc., USA
 * Julian Padget - University of Bath, UK
 * Keith Corbett - Clozure Associates, USA
 * Kent Pitman - PTC, USA
 * Manuel Serrano - INRIA Sophia Antipolis, France
 * Marc Feeley - University of Montreal, Canada
 * Marie Beurton-Aimar University of Bordeaux 1, France
 * Mark Stickel - SRI International, USA
 * Matthias Felleisen - Northeastern University, USA
 * Scott McKay - ITA Software, USA


 * Questions: ilc10-organizing-committee at

 * Program Chair: ilc2010 at

For more information, see

1 comment: